In October of 2011, our church will enter into its 125th year. Read a bit about its early days....
The First congregational Church of Western Springs was founded in 1887 with twenty-one charter members. The church group quickly grew to more than forty, a membership recognized as "cosmopolitan in spirit and life, broad in sympathy, and tolerant in non-essentials.” Early members worshiped in a small frame schoolhouse that stood near the intersection of Grand Avenue and Chestnut Street. When this building was removed in 1894 to make way for construction of an ornate stone church, services were temporarily held in a large tent. The new building was opened in late fall of 1894, and was officially dedicated in June of 1895.In 1929, the congregation moved into the building and sanctuary where we presently hold services. G. Grant Elmslie, a Prairie School architect and highly regarded associate of the renowned Louis Sullivan, designed this new building. Today the elegant woodwork patterns, the resplendent stained glass window above the altar, and the detailed stonework on our building's edifice serve as stunning reminders of Elmslie's talents.Changes that have occurred over the past 70 years include:
First Congregational Church of Western SpringsPromote Your Page Too